Bookmark and Share

The Huntsville City Board of Education met in the boardroom on the above date at 5:30 p.m. Members present were the President, Ms. Laurie McCaulley; Vice President, Mr. David Blair; Ms. Alta Morrison; Dr. Jennie Robinson; and Mr. Topper Birney. A quorum was present. Also present were the Superintendent, Dr. Casey Wardynski; School Board Attorney, Mr. J.R. Brooks; members of the central office staff; and interested citizens.

The meeting was opened by the President. Moment of Silent Reflection and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Cadet Lieutenant Colonel Abigail Tomkovich of the Grissom High JROTC Battalion.

During the Superintendent Celebration, Rena Anderson, Director of Community Engagement and Partnership Development recognized Farley Elementary for their participation in the National Sumdog Technology Math Contest - Second Place in the Nation and First Place in the State of Alabama, the resolutions were presented by Dr. Wardynski. Motion was made by Ms.Alta Morrison to approve the resolutions, seconded by Mr. Topper Birney and carried.

Ms. Kristy Dunn - Teacher at Jones Valley was recognized by the State for her achievement as part of the Robotics Team. 

Oakwood University SGA presented Huntsville City Schools 30 back packs with school supplies. Various board members were recognized for their 2012 AASB School Board Member Academy Achievements.

1 SG Vanzandt recognized some of the cadets from the Grissom High School ROTC team.

Meeting Agenda



Agenda developed by the Superintendent in collaboration with the Board President and Vice President.

Session Timeout Notification

Are you still there? Your session is about to expire

Please press "Continue" to stay active on this page.